[NEW] Black Butterfly: A Tribute to Karyn Washington founder of “For Brown Girls”

[NEW] Black Butterfly: A Tribute to Karyn Washington founder of “For Brown Girls”

I hope all will read this story and desire to check on their friends more. I know I am saddened by the loss of life and am encouraged to make sure I am there for my friends. Let’s lean in and listen a bit more. I did not follow Karyn’s work. In fact, this is my first time hearing of her. I looked her up and saw what an amazingly talented young woman she was. What her work has done for other women of all colors is a blessing.

The Official Sophia A. Nelson, Esquire Website

Karyn_Washington I am not sure that I have the words to express the sadness I feel at the loss of such a young, bright light like Karyn under such tragic circumstances. But, I will do my best to try.

At 22, my life was full, exciting, and busy. I was just graduating college, on my way to becoming a 1st year law student at a prestigious law school, I was in love with a cute guy from a great family, and my only care in the world was being a full-time student, and hanging with my beloved sister friends (all of whom are still good friends to this day).  I had taken a year off before law school to work in the New Jersey Legislature as a staff aide, and I met a woman named Christine Todd Whitman, who had just narrowly lost a US Senate Race to former Basketball great Bill Bradley…

View original post 876 more words

One thought on “[NEW] Black Butterfly: A Tribute to Karyn Washington founder of “For Brown Girls”

Leave a Reply

